

## 2023 ANNUAL MEETING OF MEMBERS

Saturday, June 24, starting at 9:15am

## BUSINESS MEETING AGENDA:

- Welcome to your 85th Annual Meeting of Members
- Invocation Kevin Reidy, District 6 Trustee
- Pledge of Allegiance John Martin, District 9 Trustee
- Call to order 2023 Annual Meeting President Dan Schloemer, District 1 Trustee
  - Firelands Electric Cooperative Board of Trustees Video
- Proof of Due Publication Secretary/Treasurer Carl Ayers, District 5 Trustee
  - Notice of meeting and proof of mailing
- Approval of Meeting Minutes (located on back of agenda) Dan Schloemer
- Message from Ohio's Electric Cooperatives President/CEO Pat O'Loughlin
- Message from Ohio's Electric Cooperatives V.P. of Power Generation Tom Alban
- Message from your Board of Trustees Dan Schloemer
- Message from Management General Manager Dan McNaull
- Report from Election Committee Attorney Heather Niedermeier Heyman
  - 2023 co-op elections process and election results
- Old & New Business Dan Schloemer
- Adjournment Dan Schloemer
- Special Prize Drawings Dan Schloemer (winners must be present to win)



Thank you for participating in the 85th annual meeting of members!

## Firelands Electric Cooperative, Inc. ANNUAL MEETING MINUTES - JUNE 18, 2022

The 84th Annual meeting of Members of Firelands Electric Cooperative, Inc. was held on Saturday, June 18, 2022 at 10:00 a.m. at the Firelands Electric Cooperative, Inc. Headquarters in New London, Ohio. The meeting was held pursuant to the Code of Regulations of the Cooperative.

Dan Schloemer, President of the Board of Trustees, welcomed the members to the meeting. President Schloemer then introduced John Martin, Trustee from District 9, who lead the membership in the Pledge of Allegiance and gave the Invocation. President Schloemer called the business meeting to order. In a pre-recorded video, Andrea Gravenhorst introduced the Trustees.

Vice President Bruce Leimbach, fulfilling the role as Secretary, reported that by virtue of the ballots cast by mail and electronically and the members present, a quorum was present pursuant to the Cooperative's Code of Regulations. The Acting Secretary reported that the members had been notified of the Annual Meeting in accordance with the Cooperative's Code of Regulations. He reported that minutes of last year's Annual Meeting which was held June 19, 2021, had been distributed to the members upon their registration for this meeting. The Acting Secretary called for approval of the minutes. Thereafter, upon motion duly made, seconded and carried, the reading of the minutes was waived and the minutes were approved as presented.

President Schloemer asked the membership to approve the pending applications for new membership to the Cooperative. Upon motion duly made, seconded and carried, 61 new applicants for membership were accepted. President Schloemer directed the Acting Secretary to attach a list of the new members to the minutes of this meeting.

President Schloemer presented a pre-recorded video of Pat O'Loughlin, President of Ohio's Electric Cooperatives. President Schloemer reported on various issues faced by the Board of Trustees during the past year. The President thanked retiring trustee Andy Anderson for his 13 years of service on the Board. He also recognized Attorney David Harwood for 44 years of service to the Board as the corporate attorney. The President announced the retirement of \$1 million in capital credits, the largest the Cooperative has seen, due to great margins in the past year. President Schloemer discussed adding renewable energy sources along with the continued need for coal fired power plants to ensure reliability.

President Schloemer introduced Dan McNaull, General Manager of the Cooperative. Dan discussed the Cooperative's response to the recent storm, the employees who worked through the night, and the assistance provided by other cooperatives. Dan discussed issues with damage from trees and the need to trim trees aggressively. Dan noted that underground lines created much higher costs and risks with digging. Dan reported on the new workplan to upgrade lines and rebuild the Coulter substation. He also advised the possibility of a rate increase in 2023. Dan explained the ACRE program and encouraged members to join. He presented a pre-recorded video regarding the ACRE program.

The President introduced Attorney Heather Niedermeier Heyman to conduct the election of trustees. The attorney announced the results of the Cooperative's election conducted by mail and electronic ballot. She explained that for the 2022 trustee election the Board retained Coop Ballot of Dublin, Ohio to conduct the election. Ballots were mailed to the membership with instructions on how to cast the ballots and where and when to return them. The attorney advised that 458 valid votes were cast, 405 by mail and 53 electronically. This represented a participation rate of 5.78% of the membership in the voting process. The attorney reported that Bruce Leimbach was re-elected for District 4, Carl Ayers was re-elected for District 5, and Elaine Oswald was elected for District 8.

Newly elected trustee, Elaine Oswald, District 8, introduced herself and discussed her experience with the Cooperative. President Schloemer presented a pre-recorded video regarding Employee recognition.

President Schloemer called for any old business to come before the meeting. There being no old business, the President asked for new business. There being no new business presented by the membership, and without further business to come before the meeting, upon motion duly made, seconded and carried, the meeting was adjourned.